Week 2

This week I rediscovered how much of a pain stock motion animations are to create.. But it is all worth it. Overall I am happy with the way that my video has turned out. I wish I would have taken more time to create a better transition between the stages of the flower’s growth. This was definitely an interesting project for a ceramics class and really made me think outside of the box. It was odd to sculpt something that I did not intend to fire afterwards. I really enjoyed the process of this piece and was definitely a challenge for me.

It was also a nice contrast to work with porcelain than to the normal shop clay that we use. We created a porcelain batch that contained no grog so it made for a very smooth medium. I felt like that made it easier to sculpt such delicate pieces for this subject matter. I was surprised at how easy it was to keep the flower from drying out throughout this process. I was expecting to have problems with this and have to deal with cracking. Though it cooperated nicely for me and made for a good outcome.

Leave a comment